Tea Time

Can digital kids appreciate tea time? Yes, they can. As can Digital Mom.

Last Friday we took Grandma and Nana to tea at our favorite tea room as an early Mother’s Day present. While my daughter is a regular, my boys have only been one other time. They anticipated the event almost as much as they anticipate buying that Nintendo DSi they’ve been saving for. All week the 5-year-old asked, “Is today the day for tea? I love those little foods.”

Tea Time

Tea Time

What beauty there is in slowing down, in waiting for tea to cool, in eating tiny sandwiches and slathering clotted cream on a scone. In a world where we spend much of our time looking at a screen, it was a joy to look into each other’s faces and to share in the experience and the laughter with people we love most.

It was an afternoon without the distraction of the digital world. It was sweet, and even the digital boys enjoyed it. Of course, their enthusiasm may have had something to do with the sugar cubes, but I’ll take what I can get.

Photo credit: justmakeit (flickr)

About Melissa W. Sais

I am a freelance writer, copywriter, ghostwriter and blogger. Contact me for your next creative project.
This entry was posted in digital moms and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tea Time

  1. Jenn says:

    I was just talking about this with someone. I generally have my niece (and sometimes my nephew, but he’s 13 and doesn’t think spending time with Auntie Jenny is fun anymore) for the summer. I try to do girlie things with her because she lives in a house with 5 boys and her step mom. A friend of mine suggested doing a tea party like you do, or taking her to a tea house. I might have to pick your brain a little.

    • Melissa Sais says:

      Jenn: I’ve got all the stuff for a tea party that I can share with you, but an afternoon at the tea room is really special. Let’s talk soon.

  2. Amanda says:

    I liked this blog; especially, Nico’s quote and asking if it was the tea day. Miss you guys.

Leave a Reply

