Daily Digital Distraction

So, I’m in this blogathon, writing every day in the month of May with about 40 other writers. Some of my favorites this week are Blogging ‘Bout Boys, Parenting by Trial and Error, BIKE with Jackie, The Polkadot Suitcase and Wordcount — Freelancing in the Digital Age. The problem is that their blogs are so good that I spend all my time absorbed in them and fail to get my blogs written and my laundry folded. At times, I have even just barely got my paying work done.

If you are online, I’m sure you’ve faced the same problem. When the digital becomes daily, it’s easy to get distracted. Whether it’s blogging, Facebook, shopping for shoes on Zappos, agonizing over Consumer Reports washer and dryer reviews, trying to get the best air fare, or researching children’s book publishers, one thing leads to another and suddenly hours have passed.

School is out on Friday, so I know I must get a plan for my online activities and regular workload together and be disciplined about following it. Wish me luck, or better yet, give me some advice. How do you keep the digital from taking over your life?

About Melissa W. Sais

I am a freelance writer, copywriter, ghostwriter and blogger. Contact me for your next creative project.
This entry was posted in blogathon, blogs, digital moms, freelance writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Digital Distraction

  1. Thanks for the shout out! I was really hoping you’d already have some comments to this post, b/c your question is one I’ve asked myself many times, with no real answers. I love blogging, I enjoy Facebook and I’m definitely warming up to Twitter — but all that “fun” makes hard to concentrate on boring things like transcribing and cleaning the house.

Leave a Reply

